Lost Love Letters Weblog

“we use the term “love” loosely ’round here…”

So what defines teenage love anyways?! January 4, 2008

Well welcome to my first and only blog. I was inspired by a friend who currently runs 2, (YES!) 2 blogs, and honestly, I felt like a lazy lackey who wasn’t with it, so I broke down, came to wordpress and now, here I am. I was trying to think about what I would write, and then I realized I couldn’t really be an introspective writer because honestly, I think my blog would be too damn depressing and there are already plenty of depressing blogs out there. Also, I live by 3 mantras in my life and one of those mantras is “Never write anything that you couldn’t have read over public radio”. So my 3rd mantra pretty much killed any possibility about a true to life, brutally honest, online diary. Who wants to hear any of that stuff from me anyways? I only converse with myself about those intimate things, so why would anyone else care much, right? The voices in my head are confirming that I am right, so just trust me on this one ok? 🙂

So after thinking very long and hard (for about 10 minutes or so) I said, “Why write about my own intimate thoughts when I could just take the easy way out and write about someone elses???” This thought, mixed with a recent top to bottom scrub down of my house where I re-discovered a bunch of love letters from past boyfriends (most over 15 years old, some around the 10 year range), has born this most un-original of blogs… the LOST LOVE LETTERS BLOG.

After reading a few of the letters, I kept thinking about how funny the shit sounded… and also how hind-sight is always 20/20. But at the same time, I was still very touched (and I will admit, a bit excited) by the way I was admired in these letters, even if they were kind of ridiculous sounding 15 years later. There is obviously a reason I saved these stupid things in the first place, and I am sure there are millions of others like me (both men AND women) that do the same – you stash your beloved letters somewhere with the rest of your cards, prom pictures, yearbooks and ticket stubs of days gone by, and in the beginning, you lovingly re-visit these little pieces of memories to hold on to the best and worst times of your youth… but before you know it, you visit less and less until you finally move somewhere and pack all that stuff into another box that then gets pushed to the corner of your closet or attic. Then, after a while, you forget all about them, those little pieces of paper that brought you so much emotion, admiration and extended series of quickened heart beats. But now you have stumbled upon this little piece of cyberspace real estate! Ahhh, yes… this is where the Lost Love Letter blog will save you from your forgetfullness 🙂

Now, I will be sharing with you a stash of letters I re-discovered over the holidays and with each letter I post, will give some background along with some 20/20 hindsight I have since gathered. I warn you here and now my friends, letters from high school do not always fall under the perfect guise of a “Love Letter” but all in all, they include flattery and that was enough for me to view it as a love letter way back when. So come along with me on a journey through my youth via some scribing by the boys who once called me “girlfriend” (or mistress?) and in the interim, go try and find your lost love letters that you have pushed into the back of your closet or attic… I am sure that once re-discovered, you will still get that same giddy feeling you once had when you were young and naive as I was…

The first letter will be posted momentarily – if you find any letters that you would like to share, please feel free to send them along. I was not THAT popular or THAT much of a hussy, so my stash of love letters will run out soon! Thanks for visiting and hope to see you around!

P.S. You will notice that I am not necessarily a skilled writer … I won’t have a cleverly concocted script that ties everything nicely together or always be able to relate back to the title of the posting (as you can see with this exact post here) so I apologize in advance!

 

Leave a Reply

